Spirit Day and NYC Goes Purple

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month, which we can acknowledge by wearing purple. Why purple? Well, in the United States military, the Purple Heart is presented to those who have been wounded while serving. For survivors of Domestic Violence, who may also be wounded both physically and emotionally, the color is meant to be a symbol of peace, courage, survival, honor and dedication to ending violence.

Domestic Violence Awareness Month was first observed in 1981 as a national day of unity. It was established by the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence to ensure that victims know help is available if they need it. Today, we have made considerable progress toward achieving this goal. However, there is still more work to be done.

Domestic Violence could be done to anyone by anyone a husband, a wife, girlfriend, boyfriend or life partner.

A couple months ago I met a man his name was Stevan and it wasn’t horrible from the beginning. It started out really great but as usual I didn’t tell anyone that I was seeing someone. It wasn’t anything yet for the people in my life to know him.

Pride was soon approaching and I knew they would have too meet him. Pride season is also around the same time he started to change. Stevan would say things that made me feel less than to him in regards to my body and he would mock my body in private, public and in random texts during my work day, and he would do things to me sexually that I did not consent too. Stevan would mock what I called my body, and tell me I wasn’t masculine unenough because I was assigned female at birth. He attempted to cut me off from the people who matter most in my life, my best friend, my political friends and even my work with the LGBT Community Center of Staten Island. That’s the short version of this…and as I continue to heal and go thru the emotions of this maybe I will write more about it.

However today, I watched as some of the people who inspire and drive me most wear purple and be Upstanders to Domestic Violence. I find the need to still educate them on something, in 2015 Domestic Violence/ Intimate Partner Violence can happen to anyone of any sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.

Domestic Violence/ Intimate Partner Violence comes in all forms physical, sexual, emotional, economic, or psychological actions or threats of actions.

anLily

Leave a Reply

