Bisexual Visibility Day 2013

Bisexual Visibility Day has been around since 1999 created by Wendy Curry, Michael Page and Gigi Raven Wilbur to celebratethose who identify as bisexual, pansexual, fluid and non- monsexual people. It is celebrated every year on September 23rd.

“Ever since the Stonewall rebellion, the gay and lesbian community has grown in strength and visibility. The bisexual community also has grown in strength but in many ways we are still invisible. I too have been conditioned by society to automatically label a couple walking hand in hand as either straight or gay, depending upon the perceived gender of each person.” Wilbur

The bisexual community consistently feels left out and invisible by the lesbian and gay community. We have our own Bisexual History, Bisexual Culture and we also have also have our own issues with Biphobia.

I recently read this article on 9 Stupid Myths About Bisexuals That Will Make You Laugh, these are all things we hear from the heterosexual, Gay and Lesbian community. 

1)   Bisexuals are sluts

2)   Bisexual women only do it to turn on straight cisgendered men

3)   Bisexuals are indecisive or confused

4)   Bisexuality is a cop-out or a phase

5)   Everybody is bisexual

6)   Nobody is bisexual

7)   Bisexual can never be happy in a monogamous relationship

8)   Bisexuals love threesomes

9)   Bisexuals love puns

 At the end of the day we are all just looking for love, partnership and a sense of family or community.  My coming out journey started with my sexuality come first and my gender identity and expression came later.

This year for the first time I feel like a complete person, I have embraced my community fully for the first time and it wasn’t intentional. It happen because I was put into a position that forced me to come to the front and say that “ I am a Transgender Bisexual Man” sometimes as an activist you forget to that you are a individual. We need to fight for who you are and remember you choice your labels to wear for yourself, and for a while I knew I had forgotten that.

This year Bisexual Pride Celebration and Top Surgery Fundrasier  is a celebration of me and the work of the bisexual community.  

 

Image Image

 

2 comments on “Bisexual Visibility Day 2013

  1. Thank you for this post. I did not know that Bisexual Visibility Day was a thing (my boyfriend is bi, but he never tells me important things like this). All that’s left is to figure out some way to celebrate.

  2. Syn says:

    […] Bisexual Visibility Day 2013 (transbipoliticalnyc.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

